top of page
  • Writer's picture18cheunga

Seventh Grade Interviews

I never really cared for seventh grade interviews, but this year, I wanted to give it a try because of the fact that I never thought about it. In previous years, I heard about the seventh grade interviews and Margaret’s emails always asked for volunteers. This time, I was one of the volunteers.


I volunteered for Mr. Rabinowitz’s room and it was quite simple. When the event began, I had a list of prospective students that I brought up to the room we were in. They sat down and wrote about the prompt we had up on the board. After time was up, we let the students get to know one another in their table and talk about what they wrote. They also shared their ideas to the whole group later on, including Mr. Rabinowitz and I. While this was happening, I took notes on each student, observing their speech, behavior, etc. This was to determine if they would be good candidates for our school. At the end of the session, we said our goodbyes and thank yous and I led them back downstairs. The same thing was repeated for another group of prospective students. At the end of the evening, Mr. Rabinowitz and I took some time to read what everyone wrote and talk about our thoughts on the individuals.


This was actually really fun to do and I wish I did it more often. It was interesting to see the process of how students get chosen to go to BSGE. This made me relive the day I had to do it when I was a sixth grader myself. The kids were adorable and I enjoyed interacting with them and talking about my own experience at this school to them.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Parent Teacher Conferences

Ever since the 7th grade, I have been volunteering for Parent Teacher Conferences. This is not just because I needed and wanted the hours, but because it was an enjoyable experience for me to help th

Senior Art Show: March 23, 2017

I chose to volunteer for the senior art show to get an idea of how it would be for my own grade next year. Prior to this year, I never paid much attention to the senior art shows. I remember one yea

bottom of page